Gretchen

Be Still

Be still and know that I am God

Be still and know

Be still

Be

I started my morning with a guided meditation that was introduced to me from the Order of the Carmelites.  Their Daily Disconnect is a simple prayer practice that includes words for contemplation and prompts for a conversation with God.  You can find it here http://www.carmelites.net/daily-disconnect/tuesday-november-12-2013/

The name, “The Daily Disconnect” doesn’t always sit well with me.  In the description of this daily prayer practice is meant to take us away from the daily distractions of our cell phones and our hectic schedules and pay attention to the conversation partner in front of us (God).  I actually agree that it is helpful in prayer to disconnect from all of these things that pull our attention this way and that way.  I personally find it beneficial to spend time each day in silent prayer.  I give myself an opportunity to allow my thoughts to slow down and quiet.  Often in that time I uncover nagging thoughts that have wandered just below the surface and have been eating away at my subconscious.  But this time for me is far from a disconnection.

Contemplative practices often get a bad rap for being solitary endeavors.  But contemplation ultimately does not lead one to be “apart from this world”.  To the contrary, those who follow the contemplative life are far more engaged in the world than most people that I know.  Although some may beg to differ the goal of the spiritual life is not to have an other worldly mystical experience.  The practice of spiritual contemplation is to have an incarnational experience.  These bodies are the place in which our soul resides.  Our littered minds are command central for this seat of the soul.  The contemplative life makes us aware.  It makes us awake.  It opens our eyes.  It opens our eyes to see the ill effects of our bad habits. It opens our eyes to see the effects of our habits have on the world around us.  It helps us to recognize the fruits of the Spirit and over time assists in learning how to discern a God path.

“Disconnecting” daily has taught me how to engage each moment more intently.  It has taught me how to encounter each person I meet relatively free of agenda or expectation and ready to be present with them.  I am learning how to allow the future to be the future, the past to be the past, and to not let them take up permanent residence in my still too littered mind.  I call this freedom in Christ.  Freedom to be still and know that God is God, I am not, and I have the wisdom to discern the difference.  This is an embodied spirituality that embraces our whole lives and not one that escapes it.

Dive in.

Leave a Reply

