Gretchen

Drops

Drops

I’m sitting here staring out my window watching water. Today we had a hard frost. The kind that collects in my too old window panes and hardens to a frost. Only now as the day finally warms can I see drops migrate and form clear trails. Though it is getting colder I am waxing poetic about summer. I’m forgetting the scorching heat and imagining it as a comforting blanket wrapped around my shoulders.

The water reminds me of days out in the yard as a child. Running through the sprinkler was mandatory and the battle over who would have control of the hose was epic. I used to kink the hose so that pressure would build up. When it was released, the eruption would go so far up in the air that it took a moment for those drops to find their way back down. I would stand with my eyes closed and my face open towards the sky just waiting for the shock of the fall.

There are times in my life now that feel a bit like this waiting with open arms. As exciting as it is to run out into the sun and throw caution to the wind, it can be a bit disarming as well. As I make some major transitions in my own life I am reminding myself to enjoy the anticipation rather than obsessing about the unknown. After all, it was always more fun to close my eyes and have my breath taken away as those cold drops shocked my system.

So today I am allowing myself to sit here and stare out the window. I am feeling every bit of this transition as the boxes and the to do lists pile up around me. But rather than obsessing about what is not yet done and what is yet to come, I am dwelling in the joy of this time of my life. Today I am sitting here with my eyes closed and my arms wide open in gratitude to God for this life.

Philippians 4:6-9
The Message (MSG)

6-7 Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

8-9 Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.

Leave a Reply

